Instaweekend adventures

16 Jun

It’s been a few days since I posted and I apologize for my absence for the blogosphere (I promise to be back to regular outfit posts tomorrow)! But that usually only means one thing…I’ve been busy…having fun! Which is totally excusable in my book. Yesterday was just so packed with goodness I just had to share this fantastic day with you. It was just one of those magical Saturday’s that stick with you for a while cause they’re so good. If you follow me on Instagram, you’ve seen a sneak peek but here was my Instaweeknd.

Screen Shot 2013-06-16 at 4.47.54 PM

Penny got his Summer haircut in the morning so when we picked up handsome from the groomer, we decided to stop by our favorite old-fashioned ice cream shops for a cone. The dress is Tulle via Crossroads Trading Co.

IMG_1061

Then we strolled around Williamsburg (Brooklyn), poked into a few shops, and checked out the art for sale from local street artists/vendors. Then we had drinks with one of my best friends at a dog-friendly bar with a cozy backyard. She brought her adorable Boston Terrier with her. Williamsburg was amidst a “Williamsburg Walks” event where the main street is closed to vehicles to allow pedestrians to walk freely and bits of sod are laid on the pavement to create little green spaces where people literally just sit and sip iced coffees and what have you right in the middle of the street. It’s really a sight to see! Williamsburg is one of my favorite places to hang out on any day of the week.

IMG_1066 20130615_195131

I  put 2 tickets to see one my all-time favorite bands, the Postal Service, in JC’s Easter basket back in April and have been counting the days ever since. The show was at the Barclays Center in Brooklyn so we hit that next. JC has very eclectic taste in music but wasn’t really familiar with many indie bands before he met me. That’s one of my favorite thing about our relationship is that I’ve gotten to introduce him to the music I love and he has introduced me to some great music I had never discovered before.

20130615_195732 IMG_1086

We had a bit of a time snafu in Williamsburg when I decided that we should walk to meet my friend for drinks not realizing it was much more of distance than I thought so we ended up not having enough time to get dinner like I had thought we would before the show (oopsydoops). But as luck would have it, this little gem The Elbow Room, was waiting for us at the Barclays Center with the most scrumptious infused Mac n Cheese I’ve ever tasted! I had chicken tinga mac with avocado and pickled onions and JC had Buffalo Chicken mac. Umm, only two things to say really…whoever thought of this concept is a freaking genius and I will certainly be back.

IMG_1065

Waiting in line for a beer. A live music essential : )

20130615_195806

Wrist band in tact.  Chippy  nails regrettable.

Screen Shot 2013-06-16 at 4.48.15 PM

Be still my heart. I’d marry Ben Gibbard if given the chance (if I wasn’t already married of course!) if for no other reason than the close proximity he shares to my girl Zooey Deschanel (yes that’s what I was thinking about when I saw him in the flesh) but on top of the fact that he’s married to my biggest girl crush ever, he’s amazingly talented and SO fun to watch perform. The show was next level awesome and we were literally THIS close to the stage. Definitely one of the best, most fun, shows i’ve ever been to and one I’ll remember forever, especially because I got to see it with my best mate.

Hope you’re weekend was as splendid as mine! If you don’t already follow me on Instagram…I’d love it if you did! My handle is @paperandpretties!

Leave a Comment

