Pattern mixer

29 May

IMG_9014 IMG_9023 IMG_9027 IMG_9031

head scarf: Urban Outfitters
polka dot top: TJMaxx
denim: Mossimo Supply Co. via Target (similar)
oxford flats: Necessary Clothing
bag: H&M

I’d be lying if I said that every pattern works together, sometimes I think it goes too far and gets crazy. But whether we like it or not friends, mixing patterns is trending hard and I’m on board. I can feel my mom cringing at the very thought of it. There is an IF though…the patterns have to be somewhat recessive and not fighting with each other. Polka dots on denim is pretty subtle of a pattern and though these jeans are floral, the color is monochromatic and gray, not too loud. I added in some pops of color with a headscarf and bold lipstick and I’m good to go! My camera battery pack decided to exhaust itself completely mid-shoot so I just barely was able to snap the best part of this top…the awesome back! Any denim top laden with dots and I’m a fan but an interesting and unique detail like that is a twist I can’t resist. A little peep show without being scandalous? Sign me up.

Hope you’re having a lovely day! I’ve taken the day off from work on Friday so my work week ends tomorrow and I couldn’t be happier. Woot woot!

Leave a Comment

